STOC 2017 Theory Fest: 49th Annual ACM Symposium on the Theory of Computing
June 19-23, 2017 in Montreal


TheoryFest starts on Monday!

The proceedings links to the digital library and abstracts are available. Papers themselves will be available starting the opening day of the conference.

There is a room sharing list for those who want to share hotel rooms for TheoryFest.

The full STOC Program and the schedule of invited paper talks are posted.

Conference Registration is open.

The TheoryFest/STOC Schedule , Tutorials and Workshops schedules are posted.

General Information

The 49th ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2017) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory and will be held at the Hyatt Regency in Montreal, PQ, Canada from Monday, June 19 - Friday, June 23, 2017.

STOC 2017 will be part of a 5-day Theory Fest with an expanded program of STOC papers, poster sessions, and a broad cross-section of invited talks, workshops and tutorials.

STOC 2017 is sponsored by SIGACT (ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory).

Important Dates

STOC Paper Submission Deadline: November 2, 2016

Suggestions for Theory Fest Invited Talks: December 12, 2016

Submitted Papers Notification: February 8, 2017

Workshop Proposals Due: February 13, 2017

Final STOC Paper Versions Due: April 10, 2017. 14 page limit (including all references and appendices)

Poster Submission Deadline: May 1, 2017

Student Travel Support Request Deadline: May 11, 2017

Hotel Deadline: May 19, 2017

Early Registration Deadline: May 21, 2017

Conference Dates: June 19-23, 2017

STOC Paper Submission

Typical but not exclusive topics of interest for STOC papers include: algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography, privacy, computational geometry, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, optimization, randomness in computing, approximation algorithms, parallel and distributed computation, machine learning, applications of logic, algorithmic algebra and coding theory, computational biology, computational game theory, quantum computing, and theoretical aspects of areas such as robotics, databases, information retrieval, and networks. Papers that broaden the reach of theory, or raise important problems that can benefit from theoretical investigation and analysis, are encouraged.

Poster Sessions

In addition to talks, all accepted STOC papers will be presented in evening poster sessions where there will be an opportunity to talk with authors about their papers, accompanied by light refreshments.

Invited Paper Talks

Theory Fest will feature about 10-12 short plenary talks on "best of theory" from a wide variety of venues and journals where Theoretical Computer Science work gets published. Anyone can suggest papers for invited presentation at Theory Fest. Suggestions may be made (deadline December 12, 2016) by following the call for suggestions.


General Co-Chairs: Hamed Hatami (McGill University), Pierre McKenzie (Université de Montréal)

Program Committee Chair: Valerie King (University of Victoria)

Theory Fest Organizing Committee: Sanjeev Arora (Chair), Paul Beame, Avrim Blum, Valerie King, Michael Mitzenmacher, Ryan Williams.

Keynote Talks and Tutorials Committee: Shafi Goldwasser, Jon Kleinberg, Kurt Melhorn, Tim Roughgarden (Chair), Moshe Vardi, Ryan Williams.

Invited Papers Committee: Dorit Aharonov, Boaz Barak (Chair), Paul Beame, Kamalika Chaudhuri, Ronald Fagin, Piotr Indyk, Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, Eva Tardos, Suresh Venkatasubramanian.

Workshops Committee: Avrim Blum (Chair), Michael Kearns, Aleksander Madry, Luca Trevisan.

Program Committee:

  • Nina Balcan, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Allan Borodin, University of Toronto
  • Keren Censor-Hillel, Technion
  • Edith Cohen, Google and Tel Aviv University
  • Artur Czumaj, University of Warwick
  • Yevgeniy Dodis, New York University
  • Andrew Drucker, University of Chicago
  • Nick Harvey, University of British Columbia
  • Monika Henzinger, University of Vienna
  • Russell Impagliazzo, University of California, San Diego
  • Ken-ichi Kawarabayashi, National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo
  • Valerie King (chair), University of Victoria
  • Ravi Kumar, Google
  • James R. Lee, University of Washington
  • Katrina Ligett, California Institute of Technology and Hebrew University
  • Aleksander Ma̧dry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Cristopher Moore, Santa Fe Institute
  • Jelani Nelson, Harvard University
  • Eric Price, University of Texas, Austin
  • Amit Sahai, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Jared Saia, University of New Mexico
  • Shubhangi Saraf, Rutgers University
  • Alexander Sherstov, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Mohit Singh, Microsoft Research and Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Gábor Tardos, Rényi Institute, Budapest