STOC 2009


  • New! There has been a change to the Conference Schedule. The Business Meeting on Sunday has been delayed (to provide more time for dinner). It will be from 8:30-10:00pm.
  • If you are seeking a roommate for the conference hotel, please visit the Room Sharing page to learn how to post a request.
  • Visit the Registration page to register for the conference.

General Information

The 41st ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2009) will be held in Bethesda, Maryland, just outside Washington, DC, Sunday, May 31 - Tuesday, June 2, 2009, at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. There will be a welcome reception Saturday, May 30.

Typical but not exclusive topics of interest include: algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography, computational geometry, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, randomness in computing, parallel and distributed computation, machine learning, applications of logic, algorithmic algebra and coding theory, computational biology, computational game theory, quantum computing and other alternative models of computation, and theoretical aspects of areas such as databases, information retrieval, and networks.

STOC 2009 is sponsored by SIGACT (ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory).

Additional Events

Visit the Special Events page for further information about the following events:

Program Committee

Susanne Albers, Univ of Freiburg Jonathan Katz, Univ of Maryland
Andris Ambainis, Univ of Latvia Jonathan Kelner, MIT
Nikhil Bansal, IBM Research Subhash Khot, New York Univ
Paul Beame, Univ of Washington Ravi Kumar, Yahoo! Research
Andrej Bogdanov, Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong Michael Mitzenmacher (Chair), Harvard Univ
Ran Canetti, Tel Aviv Univ Kamesh Munagala, Duke Univ
David Eppstein, UC Irvine Rasmus Pagh, IT Univ of Copenhagen
Dmitry Gavinsky, NEC labs Anup Rao, Institute for Advanced Study
Leslie Ann Goldberg, Univ of Liverpool Rocco Servedio, Columbia Univ
Shafi Goldwasser, MIT Mikkel Thorup, AT&T Labs-Research
Nicole Immorlica, Northwestern Univ Chris Umans, California Inst of Technology
Anna Karlin, Univ of Washington Lisa Zhang, Bell Laboratories

Local Arrangements Committee

Jonathan Katz, Univ of Maryland
David Mount, Univ of Maryland
Aravind Srinivasan (Chair), Univ of Maryland


-   STOC 2009 Home   -