General Information

The 54th ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2022) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory and will be held in Rome, Italy Monday June 20 – Friday, June 24, 2022. It will be part of a 5-day TheoryFest that will feature six workshops with introductory tutorials, technical talks and poster sessions, social events, and a special joint session with ``Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei'', the oldest and most prestigious Italian academic institution, followed by a reception and a concert at the Academy historic site.

Keynote Talks

Several keynote talks will be part of a special joint session with ``Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei''. Keynote speakers at this event include Patrick Hayden, Silvio Micali, Andrea Montanari, Giorgio Parisi, and Umesh Vazirani. More details and program to come soon. In addition, Claire Mathieu will give a keynote talk on Friday, June 24.


STOC TheoryFest 2022 will have six workshops:

For more details, please see the workshops page.

Student remote participation fee reduced thanks to sponsor support

Student Travel Awards

Students seeking SIGACT support for registration, travel, and accommodation for STOC 2022 should apply by April 20th. Details here.

Important Dates

STOC paper submission deadline: Thursday November 4, 2021, 4:59pm EDT.

Submitted papers notification: by February 6, 2022.

Workshops submission deadline: February 15, 2022.

Deadline for final versions of accepted papers: April 11, 2022.

Conference dates: June 20–24, 2022.

STOC Paper Submission

Typical but not exclusive topics of interest for STOC papers include foundational areas such as algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, parallel and distributed algorithms, quantum computing, continuous and discrete optimization, randomness in computing, approximation algorithms, combinatorics and algorithmic graph theory, cryptography, computational geometry, algebraic computation, computational applications of logic, and algorithmic coding theory. Typical topics also include computation and foundational aspects of areas such as machine learning, economics, fairness, privacy, networks, data management, and biology. Papers that broaden the reach of the theory of computing, or raise important problems that can benefit from theoretical investigation and analysis, are encouraged.


General Chair: Stefano Leonardi (Sapienza University of Rome)

Program Committee Chair: Anupam Gupta (Carnegie Mellon University)

Theory Fest Organizing Committee: Leonard Schulman (Chair), Nina Balcan, Shuchi Chawla, Fabrizio Grandoni, Yael Kalai, James Lee, Yuval Rabani, Rocco Servedio, Mary Wooters.

Workshops Chair: Shuchi Chawla.

Keynote Talks Chair: James Lee.

Social Activities Co-Chairs: Clement Cannone, Mary Wooters.

TCS Women Meeting Organizers: Elena Grigorescu (Purdue University), Barna Saha (UC Berkeley), Virginia Vassilevska Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), and Mary Wootters (Stanford University)

SafeToC advocates: Éva Tardos, Tom Gur, and Yuval Rabani.

Program Committee:

  • Sepehr Assadi (Rutgers University)
  • Shalev Ben-David (University of Waterloo)
  • Karl Bringmann (Saarland University)
  • Shiri Chechik (Tel Aviv University)
  • Andrew Childs (University of Maryland)
  • Kai-Min Chung (Academia Sinica)
  • Kenneth L. Clarkson (IBM Research)
  • Alina Ene (Boston University)
  • Michal Feldman (Tel Aviv University)
  • Hu Fu (Shanghai University of Finance and Economics)
  • Ankit Garg (Microsoft Research India)
  • Mika Göös (EPFL)
  • Anupam Gupta (Carnegie Mellon University) (chair)
  • Venkatesan Guruswami (Carnegie Mellon University and UC Berkeley)
  • Sam Hopkins (University of California Berkeley and MIT)
  • Michael Kapralov (EPFL)
  • Dakshita Khurana (University of Illinois)
  • Gillat Kol (Princeton University)
  • Mrinal Kumar (IIT Bombay)
  • Amit Kumar (IIT Delhi)
  • Rasmus Kyng (ETH Zurich)
  • Kasper Green Larsen (Aarhus University)
  • Euiwoong Lee (University of Michigan)
  • Troy Lee (University of Technology, Sydney)
  • François Le Gall (Nagoya University)
  • Renato Paes Leme (Google Research)
  • Jerry Li (Microsoft Research Redmond)
  • Shi Li (The University at Buffalo)
  • Huijia (Rachel) Lin (University of Washington)
  • Konstantin Makarychev (Northwestern University)
  • Pasin Manurangsi (Google Research)
  • Shay Moran (Technion and Google Research)
  • Dana Moshkovitz (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Cameron Musco (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
  • Danupon Nanongkai (University of Copenhagen)
  • Michał Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw)
  • Eva Rotenberg (DTU, Denmark)
  • Thomas Rothvoss (University of Washington)
  • Sushant Sachdeva (University of Toronto)
  • Rocco Servedio (Columbia University)
  • Luca Trevisan (Bocconi University)
  • Greg Valiant (Stanford University)
  • Santosh Vempala (Georgia Tech)
  • Matt Weinberg (Princeton University)
  • Ryan Williams (MIT)
  • Ronald de Wolf (CWI and University of Amsterdam)


We gratefully acknowledge the sponsorship of the following:


Algorand logo

Google logo

Microsoft logo


Amazon logo

Apple logo
IOHK logo

Huawei logo


EATCS logo


Sapienza logo