General Information

The 53rd ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2021) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory and will be held virtually at the Auditorium Antonianum in Rome, Italy
Monday, June 21 – Friday, June 25, 2021

STOC 2021 will be part of a 5-day TheoryFest with an expanded program of STOC papers, poster sessions, and a broad cross-section of invited talks, workshops, and tutorials.


Conference registration is now open. General registration is $50 (whether member or non-member). Student registration is $25. Registration for the TCS Women Spotlight workshop is free. Registration includes access to all talks and online social events. Registrants for the full conference will also receive access to the conference proceedings in advance of the conference.

Important Dates

STOC paper submission deadline: November 6, 2020, 11:59pm EST

Submitted Papers Notification: by February 7, 2021

Workshops submission deadline: March 15, 2021

Deadline for final versions of accepted papers: April 11, 2021


Conference dates: June 21–25, 2021

STOC Paper Submission

Typical but not exclusive topics of interest for STOC papers include foundational areas such as algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, parallel and distributed algorithms, quantum computing, continuous and discrete optimization, randomness in computing, approximation algorithms, combinatorics and algorithmic graph theory, cryptography, computational geometry, algebraic computation, computational applications of logic, and algorithmic coding theory. Typical topics also include computation and foundational aspects of areas such as machine learning, economics, fairness, privacy, networks, data management, and biology. Papers that broaden the reach of the theory of computing, or raise important problems that can benefit from theoretical investigation and analysis, are encouraged.


General Co-Chairs: Samir Khuller (Northwestern University, SIGACT chair), Nicole Immorlica (Microsoft Research, SIGACT vice-chair)

Local Organization Chair: Stefano Leonardi (Sapienza University of Rome)

Program Committee Chair: Virginia Vassilevska Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Theory Fest Chair: Tim Roughgarden (Columbia)

Workshops Chairs: Shachar Lovett (UCSD) and Aaron Sidford (Stanford)

Keynote Talks and Tutorials Chairs: Ryan O'Donnell (CMU) and Leonard Schulman (Caltech)

Invited Papers Chairs: Nicole Immorlica (Microsoft Research) and Cris Moore (Santa Fe Institute)

TCS Women Meeting Organizers: Elena Grigorescu (Purdue University), Sofya Raskhodnikova (Boston University), Barna Saha (UC Berkeley), Virginia Vassilevska Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), and Mary Wootters (Stanford University)

SafeToC advocates: Michal Feldman and Tom Gur

Program Committee:

  • Eric Allender (Rutgers University)
  • Arturs Backurs (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago)
  • Greg Bodwin (University of Michigan)
  • Timothy Chan (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
  • Artur Czumaj (University of Warwick)
  • Michael Dinitz (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Faith Ellen (University of Toronto)
  • David Eppstein (University of California, Irvine)
  • Fedor Fomin (University of Bergen)
  • Mohsen Ghaffari (ETH Zurich)
  • Yael Kalai (MIT and Microsoft Research New England)
  • Robert Kleinberg (Cornell University)
  • Nutan Limaye (Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay)
  • Sepideh Mahabadi (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago)
  • Ruta Mehta (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
  • Raghu Meka (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Dor Minzer (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Jesper Nederlof (Utrecht University)
  • Jelani Nelson (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Sasho Nikolov (University of Toronto)
  • Ryan O'Donnell (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Maximilian Probst Gutenberg (ETH Zurich)
  • Liam Roditty (Bar Ilan University)
  • Benjamin Rossman (Duke University)
  • Guy Rothblum (Weizmann Institute of Science)
  • Piotr Sankowski (University of Warsaw)
  • Tselil Schramm (Stanford University)
  • Aaron Sidford (Stanford University)
  • Mohit Singh (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  • Avishay Tal (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Inbal Talgam-Cohen (The Technion)
  • Chris Umans (California Institute of Technology)
  • Virginia Vassilevska Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) (chair)
  • Thomas Vidick (California Institute of Technology)
  • Aravindan Vijayaraghavan (Northwestern University)
  • Mary Wootters (Stanford University)
  • Huacheng Yu (Princeton University)


Microsoft logo

SGoogle logo

Sapienza logo