General Information

The 50th ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2018) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory and will be held in Los Angeles, California Monday, June 25 - Friday, June 29, 2018.

STOC 2018 will be part of a 5-day TheoryFest with an expanded program of STOC papers, poster sessions, and a broad cross-section of invited talks, workshops and tutorials. This will include a special celebration for the 50th anniversary of the founding of SIGACT and STOC, which was first held in the Los Angeles area.

Important Dates

STOC Paper Submission Deadline: November 3, 2017

Suggestions for Theory Fest Invited Talks: December 3, 2017

Submitted Papers Notification: February 9, 2018

Workshop Proposals Due: February 23, 2018

Final STOC Paper Versions Due: April 2, 2018

Student Travel Grant Application Deadline: May 1, 2018

Poster Submission Deadline: May 11, 2018

Hotel Deadline: June 1, 2018

Early Registration Deadline: June 1, 2018

Conference Dates: June 25-29, 2018

STOC Paper Submission

Typical but not exclusive topics of interest for STOC papers include: algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography, privacy, computational geometry, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, optimization, randomness in computing, approximation algorithms, parallel and distributed computation, machine learning, applications of logic, algorithmic algebra and coding theory, computational biology, computational game theory, quantum computing, and theoretical aspects of areas such as robotics, databases, information retrieval, and networks. Papers that broaden the reach of theory, or raise important problems that can benefit from theoretical investigation and analysis, are encouraged.

Poster Sessions

In addition to talks, all accepted STOC papers will be presented in evening poster sessions where there will be an opportunity to talk with authors about their papers, accompanied by light refreshments.

Invited Paper Talks

TheoryFest will feature about 10-12 short plenary talks on "best of theory" from a wide variety of venues and journals where Theoretical Computer Science work gets published.

Anyone can suggest papers for invited presentation at Theory Fest. Suggestions may be made (deadline December 3, 2017) by following the call for suggestions.


General Co-Chairs: Ilias Diakonikolas & David Kempe (University of Southern California)

Program Committee Chair: Monika Henzinger (University of Vienna)

Theory Fest Organizing Committee: Sanjeev Arora (Co-Chair), Moses Charikar (Co-Chair), Paul Beame, Avrim Blum, Monika Henzinger, Tim Roughgarden, Ryan Williams.

Keynote Talks and Tutorials Committee: Tim Roughgarden (Co-Chair), Shafi Goldwasser (Co-Chair), Jon Kleinberg, Christos Papadimitriou, Dan Spielman, Ryan Williams.

Invited Papers Committee: Boaz Barak (Co-Chair), Suresh Venkatasubramanian (Co-Chair), Dorit Aharonov, Nina Balcan, Paul Beame, Martin Grohe, Piotr Indyk, Freidhelm Meyer auf der Heide, Eva Tardos.

Workshops Committee: Avrim Blum, Yael Tauman Kalai.

TCS Women: Sofya Raskhodnikova, Barna Saha, Virginia Vassilevska-Williams.

Program Committee:

  • Dimitris Achlioptas (University of California, Santa Cruz)
  • Dorit Aharonov (Hebrew University)
  • Susanne Albers (Technical University Munich)
  • Eric Allender (Rutgers University)
  • Sayan Bhattacharya (University of Warwick)
  • Richard Cole (New York University)
  • Vitaly Feldman (Google Research)
  • Uriel Feige (Weizmann Institute)
  • Sanjam Garg (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Ashish Goel (Stanford University)
  • Parikshit Gopalan (VMware)
  • Monika Henzinger, chair (University of Vienna)
  • Giuseppe Italiano (University of Rome Tor Vergata)
  • Robert Kleinberg (Cornell University)
  • Claire Matthieu (École normale superiéure, CNRS)
  • Ankur Moitra (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Danupon Nanongkai (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
  • Michal Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw)
  • Krzysztof Pietrzak (Institute of Science and Technology, Austria)
  • Aaron Sidford (Stanford University)
  • Christian Sohler (Technical University Dortmund)
  • Prasad Tetali (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  • Kunal Talwar (Google)
  • Luca Trevisan (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Thomas Vidick (California Institute of Technology)
  • Emo Welzl (ETH Zurich)
  • Philipp Woelfel (University of Calgary)
  • David Woodruff (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Mary Wootters (Stanford University)