The Thirty-Third Annual ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC), sponsored by SIGACT (the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory), will be held in Crete, Greece, July 6-8, 2001, collocated with ICALP 2001 (July 8-12) and SPAA 2001 (July 4-6). STOC 01 will be organized by the Computer Technology Institute (CTI).


Registration and Local Arrangement Information

Registration, accommodation, and travel information is now available.

Travel Information

Travel information for STOC 01 is now available here.

Student Travel Awards

SIGACT supports student travel to STOC. For STOC 2001 a total of $10,000 of Student Travel Awards will be made. These awards are for needy students to help cover expenses related to attending STOC 2001. Preference will be given to students who are STOC authors. To apply send the following information to by March 15, 2001:

  1. Title of paper, if you are an author
  2. Will you be presenting the paper?
  3. A detailed expense list, in US dollars
  4. Other travel funds that are available to you
  5. (optional) Statement from your advisor on availablity of funds

This information will be used to prioritize the awards. The awards will be announced shortly after the deadline. Late applications will not be accepted.


The full program is now available in text format.

Turing Award Lecture

The 2000 A. M. Turing Award was given to

Professor Andrew Chih-Chih Yao

in recognition of his fundamental contributions to the theory of computation, including the complexity-based theory of pseudorandom number generation, cryptography, and communication complexity.

Professor Yao will deliver his Turing Award Lecture at the conference on July 8.

Keynote Speakers for STOC '01 and ICALP '01

There will be two other Keynote Speakers for both Conferences. Both talks will be given on Sunday, July 8.

Prof. Christos Papadimitriou

The Greek Computer Society [GCS] and the Council of the Computer Technology Institute (CTI), unanimously decided to deliver to Prof. Christos Papadimitriou an award for the most influential contribution to the Foundations of Computing done by a scientist of Greek origin.

Prof. Boris Trakhtenbrot

The 80th birthday of Prof. Boris Trakhtenbrot and his very important contribution to Formal Languages and Automata will be honoured. Prof. Boris Trakhtenbrot will give a talk titled "Automata and Circuits: Facets of Continuous Time".

Gödel Prize

The 2001 Gödel Prize will be awarded in a joint STOC-ICALP session at the conference to

S. Arora, U. Feige, S. Goldwasser, C. Lund, L. Lovasz, R. Motwani, S. Safra, M. Sudan, M. Szegedy

for the three papers "Approximating Clique is almost NP-complete"; "A New Characterization of NP"; "Proof Verification and Intractability of Approximation Problems".

Professor Uriel Feige will give a talk titled "Reflections on the PCP theorem and its consequences".

Program Committee

The Program Committee Chair is Mihalis Yannakakis. The full committee consists of:

Conference Committee