2017 Theory Fest: Call for Workshop Proposals

Important Dates

Submission deadline: February 13, 2017
Notification:February 20, 2017
Workshop Day: Friday June 23, 2017

STOC 2017 Theory Fest will hold a Workshop Day on Friday June 23. We invite groups of interested researchers to submit workshop proposals.

One of the goals of Theory Fest is to create a vibrant ecosystem of workshops as exists in some other fields of CS, where workshops may even have their own calls for papers and poster sessions. The Theory Fest Workshop Day provides an informal forum for researchers to discuss important research questions, directions, and challenges of the field. We also encourage workshops that focus on connections between theoretical computer science and other areas, topics that are not well represented at STOC, new directions, and open problems.

Format: We have room for three workshops running in parallel for the course of the day with a break for lunch. In addition, workshops may be full-day or half-day. In your proposal, please let us know if you have a preference between full-day (6 hrs) or half-day (3 hrs).

Proposal Submission

Workshop proposals should, ideally, fit one page. Please include a list of names and email addresses of the organizers, a brief description of the topic and the goals of the workshop, the proposed workshop format (invited talks, contributed talks, contributed posters, panel, etc.), and proposed or tentatively confirmed speakers if known. Please also indicate the preferred length of time (3 hrs or 6 hrs) for your workshop. If your proposal is accepted and you wish to solicit contributed talks or posters, we can link to your call-for-contributions from the STOC 17 Theory Fest page. Feel free to contact members of the Workshops Committee directly or at the email address below if you have any questions.

Submission Deadline

Proposals should be submitted by February 13, 2017 via email to stocworkshops@gmail.com. Proposers will be notified by February 20, 2017 whether their proposals have been accepted.

Workshops Committee: Avrim Blum (Chair), Michael Kearns, Aleksander Madry, Luca Trevisan.