Call For Papers

STOC 2007

San Diego, CA - June 11-13, 2007

Submission deadline: 7:59 pm EST, Monday, November 20, 2006

The 39th ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2007), sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT), will be held in San Diego, CA, June 11 to 13, 2007, as part of the FCRC. Papers presenting new and original research on the theory of computation are sought. Typical but not exclusive topics of interest include: algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography, computational geometry, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, randomness in computing, parallel and distributed computation, machine learning, applications of logic, algorithmic algebra and coding theory, computational biology, computational game theory, quantum computing and other alternative models of computation, and theoretical aspects of areas such as databases, information retrieval, and networks.

Submission format: Authors should submit an extended abstract (not a full paper). The extended abstract should start with a title page consisting of the title of the paper; each author's name, affiliation, and email address; and a brief summary of the results to be presented (one or two paragraphs in length). This should then be followed by a technical exposition of the main ideas and techniques used to achieve the results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. The full extended abstract should not exceed 10 single-spaced pages (excluding title page and bibliography), on letter-size (8 1/2 x 11 inch) paper, and should be in single-column format, using at least 1 inch margins and at least 11-point font. If more details are needed to substantiate the main claims of the paper, the submission may include a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee. Submissions deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Abstract Submission: Authors are required to submit their extended abstracts electronically. The submission server is currently active. The submission deadline is 7:59 pm EST November 20, 2006.

Submissions will be judged solely on the basis of the extended abstract submitted by the deadline; post-deadline revisions will NOT be taken into consideration.

Simultaneous Submissions: The conference will follow SIGACT's policy on simultaneous submissions and prior publication. Abstract material which has been previously published in another conference proceedings or journal, or which is scheduled for publication prior to July 2007, will not be considered for acceptance at STOC 2006. SIGACT policy does not allow simultaneous submissions of the same (or essentially the same) abstract material to another conference with a published proceedings.

Notification: Authors will be sent notification of acceptance or rejection by email on or before February 18, 2007.

Deadline for Accepted Papers: A camera-ready copy of each accepted paper is required by March 23, 2007.

Presentation of Accepted Papers: One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present the work at the conference.

Best Paper Award: The program committee may designate up to three papers accepted to the conference as STOC Best Papers. Every submission is automatically eligible for this award. Rules for the award can be found at

Danny Lewin Best Student Paper Award: A prize of $500 will be given to the author(s) of the best student-authored paper (or split between more than one paper if there is a tie). A paper is eligible if all of its authors are full-time students at the time of submission. To inform the program committee about a paper's eligibility, please add "Eligible for best student paper" as the last sentence in the "Abstract" field in the web form on the submission server. The list of past winners can be found at

Program Chair: Uriel Feige, Microsoft Research and Weizmann Institute

Program Committee:

Eric Allender Rutgers University
Andris Ambainis University of Waterloo
Chandra Chekuri University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Artur Czumaj University of Warwick and New Jersey Institute of Technology
Yevgeniy Dodis New York University
Uriel Feige (chair) Microsoft Research and Weizmann Institute
Michel Goemans MIT
Martin Grohe Humboldt University, Berlin
Russell Impagliazzo University of California, San Diego
Valerie King University of Victoria, Canada, and Microsoft Research SVC
Robert Kleinberg Cornell University and University of California, Berkeley
Vladlen Koltun Stanford University
Robi Krauthgamer IBM Almaden
Jiri Matousek Charles University, Prague
Milena Mihail Georgia Tech
Ryan O'Donnell Carnegie Mellon University
Vijaya Ramachandran University of Texas at Austin
Leonard Schulman Caltech
Maxim Sviridenko IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Mikkel Thorup AT&T Labs-Research
Salil Vadhan Harvard University
Santosh Vempala Georgia Tech and MIT

Local Arrangements Chair: David Johnson, AT&T Labs-Research

Local Arrangements Information:

Last updated: September 12, 2006.