STOC 2006 Call For Papers

Seattle, WA - May 21-23, 2006

Submission deadline: 5:59 pm EST, Thursday, November 3, 2005

The 38th ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2006), sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT), will be held in Seattle, WA, May 21 to 23, 2006. Papers presenting new and original research on the theory of computation are sought. Typical but not exclusive topics of interest include: algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography, computational geometry, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, randomness in computing, parallel and distributed computation, machine learning, applications of logic, algorithmic algebra and coding theory, computational biology, computational game theory, quantum computing and other alternative models of computation, and theoretical aspects of areas such as databases, information retrieval, and networks.

Submission format: Authors should submit an extended abstract (not a full paper). The extended abstract should start with a title page consisting of the title of the paper; each author's name, affiliation, and email address; and a brief summary of the results to be presented (one or two paragraphs in length). This should then be followed by a technical exposition of the main ideas and techniques used to achieve the results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. The full extended abstract should not exceed 10 single-spaced pages (excluding title page and bibliography), on letter-size (8 1/2 x 11 inch) paper, and should be in single-column format, using at least 1 inch margins and at least 11-point font. If the authors believe that more details are essential to substantiate the main claims of the paper, they may include a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee. Submissions deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Abstract Submission: Authors are strongly encouraged to submit their extended abstracts electronically. The submission server is currently active; instructions for the submission process are at The deadline for electronic submissions is 5:59 pm EST November 3, 2005.

Authors who cannot submit electronically must send 21 printed copies (double-sided preferred) of an extended abstract, together with a cover letter, to:

Jon Kleinberg
STOC 2006 Program Chair
Department of Computer Science
4130 Upson Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853

To facilitate notification, authors submitting printed copies should also send an email to, indicating that they are submitting in this manner. Put "Hardcopy Submission" in the subject line. The abstract MUST be received by 5:59 pm EST November 3, 2005 or postmarked by October 24, 2005. Late submissions will be rejected. Authors from locations where access to reproduction facilities is severely limited may ask for permission of submitting a single copy by first sending an email to on or before October 21, 2005.

Submissions will be judged solely on the basis of the extended abstract submitted by the deadline; post-deadline revisions will NOT be taken into consideration.

Simultaneous Submissions: The conference will follow SIGACT's policy on simultaneous submissions and prior publication. Abstract material which has been previously published in another conference proceedings or journal, or which is scheduled for publication prior to July 2006, will not be considered for acceptance at STOC 2006. SIGACT policy does not allow simultaneous submissions of the same (or essentially the same) abstract material to another conference with a published proceedings.

Notification: Authors will be sent notification of acceptance or rejection by email on or before January 31, 2006.

Deadline for Accepted Papers: A camera-ready copy of each accepted paper is required by March 1, 2006.

Presentation of Accepted Papers: One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present the work at the conference.

Best Paper Award: The program committee may designate up to three papers accepted to the conference as STOC Best Papers. Every submission is automatically eligible for this award. Rules for the award can be found at

Danny Lewin Best Student Paper Award: A prize of $500 will be given to the author(s) of the best student-authored paper (or split between more than one paper if there is a tie). A paper is eligible if all of its authors are full-time students at the time of submission. To inform the program committee about a paper's eligibility, simply add "eligible for best student paper" to "notes:" when registering the paper. The list of past winners can be found at

Program Chair: Jon Kleinberg, Cornell University

Program Committee:

Scott Aaronson University of Waterloo
Eli Ben-Sasson Technion
Allan Borodin University of Toronto
David Eppstein UC Irvine
Sudipto Guha University of Pennsylvania
Piotr Indyk MIT
Jon Kleinberg (chair) Cornell University
Tal Malkin Columbia University
Frank McSherry Microsoft
Dieter van Melkebeek University of Wisconsin
Michael Mitzenmacher Harvard University
Assaf Naor Microsoft
Rafail Ostrovsky UCLA
Toniann Pitassi University of Toronto
R. Ravi CMU
Dana Ron Tel-Aviv University
Amin Saberi Stanford University
Amit Sahai UCLA
Rocco Servedio Columbia University
Madhu Sudan MIT

Local Arrangements Chairs: Paul Beame and Anna Karlin, University of Washington

Local Arrangements Information: